The Coupon Butler

Help for Haiti

Posted on: January 15, 2010

Well we do not watch TV throughout the day and honestly I can’t stomach the news so I heard about Haiti with seeing everyone’s Facebook status.  I was caught wondering why we were praying for Haiti, then I did some research and was blown away.  I know someone who was just there a couple of weeks ago serving, I can see it had changed her but now I have seen her hurting for those people.  We are all God’s children and need to care for one another.  I was reading a blog by a missionary family who is over there it was emotional to read and see the pictures of all those waiting for help.  People are lined up outside the hospital waiting for help. They have 4 small children and I kept thinking, what would I do? How can they be so strong?  Read about them here.

Although I have just began blogging, and don’t have a huge readership I feel we can still help. Can you spare $10.00 for the Red Cross? You only have to text, you can send a $10 Donation to Haiti by texting to 90999. 

There are two parts to this Help for Haiti challenge, the first is to text and donate $10, what does that mean to us? A couple of slurpees, a couple of coffees, a fastfood meal? I think we will not suffer any loss by donating that $10.

The second part, is to donate what you save next week in groceries. Some are eating out of their pantries and putting their whole food budget to help others.  I plan to do minimum shopping in the next two weeks and apply what I save and send it to Haiti.

Leave me a comment or if you have a blog you can link yours here and tell us what you plan to do to help those in Haiti.

3 Responses to "Help for Haiti"

Thanks for this – I’m donating $5 per link here: http://savingmoneyplan.com/haiti/

I’m giving $10 eCOUPONs to my online gift store Gifts For One Gifts For All (www.giftsforonegiftsforall.com) to those that have donated to organizations helping the Haitian earthquake victims. When the eCOUPON is redeemed, 10% of the purchase will also be donated to organizations helping Haiti. Read my blog for more details at http:/bit.ly/DONATE2HAITI.

Thanks for doing this! I have donated to Compassion & Red Cross. I am also donating $1-$2 for every comment on my blog to Compassion International: http://alyssaschroeder.net

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

