The Coupon Butler

Daily Dish

Posted on: January 12, 2010

I know with coupons you can get some pretty good deals. I have never seen FREE laundry soap.  I have been able to get FREE fabric softener, lots of it.  In our house we have a little lady with eczema so we have to watch what we wash our clothes with. For years we used unscented, free and clear detergents. I heard about a homemade laundry soap recipe by the Duggar’s that was really cost-effective and scent free so I tried it and love it.

Here is our own version.

Homemade Laundry soap (makes about 40 loads)

Shred with cheese grater a bar of Ivory soap

Put half the Ivory soap and 1/2 cup of Borax into a food processor or food chopper and blend together (this is to make the soap a smaller size)

Dump into bowl or container (I use a quart size mason jar) and mix the other half

Add 1 cup Super Washing soda from Arm and Hammer

Add 1 cup Baking Soda

Shake the container to get it all mixed together

Use 2 tablespoons per load laundry

I was able to make around 7 batches before I needed new supplies and it cost me less than $10.00 to buy all supplies so that is a GREAT deal.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

