The Coupon Butler

Getting started- Organizing

Posted on: January 8, 2010

If you have recently began couponing I’m sure you are trying to get them organized.  In fact when you are starting out, couponing is so overwhelming that you could just give up from being overwhelmed.  I have 4 kids at home with me all the time, I don’t have a lot of free time, just bits here and there. 

The easiest way I found to get started is to collect the Sunday paper inserts and write on them the date with a sharpie marker.  Then I filed them in a box grouped by coupon insert in date order. I used a pencil to write on the folder tabs so I could erase them when the coupons expired. Since I use Southern Savers for making my Publix list, I would pull coupons according to date when it was needed.  This allowed me to figure out the ins and outs of couponing without having a lot of extra work.

If I had started out cutting them I would have thrown in the towel, or only cut coupons I thought I would buy.  It is a lot of work to cut coupons. I learned by filing them I used coupons I never thought I would. I bought stuff because it gave me overage, therefore helping pay for items I needed. 

I just began cutting all coupons last week, trust me it was a BIG job to catch up. I have figured out a plan though and am sticking to it.  There is a trick, if you buy more than one paper sort the inserts and then rip them apart and stack them by sheets. This allows you to cut multiples of the same coupon at once.  After the coupon is cut try to lay them out on the table or counter in the area they belong dairy, frozen etc.

There are multiple ways you can store your coupons.  From coupon organizers that fit in your purse to zippered binders. Whatever feels best to you is the way to go. I have finally transferred from the file box method to a very large binder. I sorted my binder into many categories and store the coupon in baseball card holders so I can easily flip thru and see what I have.  While this is a lot more work, I am touching the coupons more and therefore know what I have in my stash.

Tags:

2 Responses to "Getting started- Organizing"

Can you come organize my coupons, since you are skilled at it? HeHe!! Love ya sis

I already gave you the organizer…yet you are asking for more?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

